Eclipse Project Natures

I recently made the horrible, horrible mistake of adding JavaScript support to my eclipse project.  After a bit of searching around I found absolutely no help on how to reverse this.  The answers I found basically said that once a kind of support/nature is added to a project, you are just up the creek.  Reversing it is nigh on impossible.

Not so!  Rejoice!

Here is my project file that gave me so much trouble:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<projectDescription>
  <name>blah blah blah</name>
  <comment></comment>
  <projects>
  </projects>
  <buildSpec>
    <buildCommand>
      <name>org.eclipse.wst.jsdt.core.javascriptValidator</name>
      <arguments>
      </arguments>
    </buildCommand>
    <buildCommand>
      <name>org.eclipse.jdt.core.javabuilder</name>
      <arguments>
      </arguments>
    </buildCommand>
  </buildSpec>
  <natures>
    <nature>org.eclipse.jdt.groovy.core.groovyNature</nature>
    <nature>org.eclipse.jdt.core.javanature</nature>
    <nature>org.eclipse.wst.jsdt.core.jsNature</nature>
  </natures>
</projectDescription>

Okay, kids. Can you take a SWAG at what to remove?  Yeah, I thought so.  You are now one up on official responses from the Eclipse project.

I removed the obvious buildCommand element-block (…javascriptValidator) as well as the jsNature nature element.  A rebuild of my project no longer brought eclipse to its knees.

On another note, a super cool thing is that when I created this project, it did not have Groovy support.  Guess what I did to add that.  Of course, this isn’t official, and certainly not supported.  But it worked because I have the necessary plug-ins installed.

As a side note, it very well may be the case that there is detritus left behind.  Simply removing these elements may not completely clean up what “Right-Click-on-project | Configure | Convert to JavaScript Project…” may have added for files.  However it turned off eclipse from doing a lot of extra parsing and compiling that caused garbage collection and loop errors.  (Yep, I tried fixing those errors first, but it seems that with the volume of js files I have that eclipse just cannot handle that.)

About John

I write about technology interests, cooking, and my own writing (sci-fi and fantasy... sometimes both). I try to keep things light, but sometimes I get side-tracked on an issue that I feel strongly about. No offense is meant, I'm just like any other person who feels strongly about something when I write. View all posts by John

Comments are disabled.