New Install of Ubuntu Server — Part III (mediawiki)

Installing mediawiki is easy.  Setting up a new wiki is easy.  Migrating to a new server AND upgrading the version of mediawiki is triki…

My first issue was setting up the user.  I know SQL, but the exact specifics of some databases can elude me.  Enter my first “bit in the butt” moment with MySQL.  Apparently the best way to GRANT permissions to the mediawiki user is to use a statement similar to the following:

GRANT SELECT,INSERT,UPDATE,DELETE ON db_name.* TO db_user@’%’ IDENTIFIED BY ‘some password’;

It was that little percent sign (%) that bit me.

My second issue was upgrading mediawiki.  This, of course, is not a smart move to do as part of moving to a new server.  But, hey, I did it.  The final key was to run the update script (maintenance/update.php) that is included in the mediawiki install dir (/usr/share/mediawiki on Ubuntu).

Otherwise, the steps at this site, and the ones it links to, are great.

About John

I write about technology interests, cooking, and my own writing (sci-fi and fantasy... sometimes both). I try to keep things light, but sometimes I get side-tracked on an issue that I feel strongly about. No offense is meant, I'm just like any other person who feels strongly about something when I write. View all posts by John

Comments are disabled.

