Possible New Server

I might have need for a new “server” if certain plans go well (which would involve working part-time from an island).  I spec’d out parts, and I cannot believe what $750 can get these days.

  • small form factor, bare bones LGA775 system
  • DVD Burner
  • 19″ 1440×900 monitor
  • 640 GB HDD
  • 4 GB RAM (DDR2 800)
  • Intel Core2 Duo Wolfdale 2.93GHz
  • GeForce 8600GT

Amazing!  This is why I buy parts.  With the exception of the memory, I think that outstrips my current machine of which I am usually very proud!  Of course, a year from now I’ll look at this and some of it will be out of date.  Such is the way of technology.  But for something to run one or two VMs on, and also use as a music machine, this is “super duper”.

Of course, no purchases have been made yet.  Once plans happen, surely the technology will have changed… again!

About John

I write about technology interests, cooking, and my own writing (sci-fi and fantasy... sometimes both). I try to keep things light, but sometimes I get side-tracked on an issue that I feel strongly about. No offense is meant, I'm just like any other person who feels strongly about something when I write. View all posts by John

Comments are disabled.

